Madonna: ‘Erotica’ – Album Review


Released: October 20, 1992

From religious Madonna, we head towards to Dita… Madonna’s sexy alter-ego. Dita is channeled through Erotica, Madonna’s fifth album, and allures several sexual acts of lust and powerful intercourse. This is displayed through the title track, superimposed on a porn groove/new-jack swing composition. Other dance inspired tracks; “Deeper and Deeper” and “Bye Bye Baby” holds onto Madonna’s previous dance phase with a touch up of 1990s flavor, whilst the funky house hit “Fever”, the polished perfection “Rain” and the groovy spoken-word of “Where Life Begins” offers more inside the dance genre.

However, Erotica may contain personal lyrics, its heavily overshadowed by heavy sexual tones; “Waiting” sounds like a sexy pop groove that, while is catchy, is slightly boring. “Thief of Hearts” is also a catchy song, but her vocals sounds so lazy like the second half of the album. Overall, Erotica offers a more mature and sexual offering, but couldn’t stand on its two legs let along on the head of the album’s singles.

Track list (Bold means best tracks)

  1. Erotica ~Liam’s favorite~
  2. Fever
  3. Bye Bye Baby
  4. Deeper and Deeper
  5. Where Life Begins
  6. Bad Girl
  7. Waiting
  8. Thief of Hearts
  9. Words
  10. Rain
  11. Why It’s So Hard
  12. In This Life
  13. Did You Do It?
  14. Secret Garden


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s