Music, Music Review

Madonna: ‘Like a Prayer’ – Album Review


Released: March 29, 1989

Like a Prayer, Madonna’s fourth and final album inside the 1980s era, saw a provocative and maturing change in Madonna’s image (and personal life for that matter). Like a Prayer also saw a transition in Madonna’s personal life as well; she was at the brink of divorcing American actor Sean Penn, observing the bad reviews for her acting endeavors, and entered her 30s. And again, she displayed this in her music, and that’s where Like a Prayer was born. The ultimatum is that, whilst the whole material from Like a Prayer isn’t as polished or catchy like her previous material, its Madonna’s emotional delivery and lyrics that keep’s this album afloat.

The album’s title track is by far one of her best offerings in her career; it’s haunting, catchy, and bloody inspiring. “Express Yourself”, the self-empowerment anthem, cemented Madonna’s every-changing pop sound. The album’s catchiest moments are, obviously, the pop moments; the poppy yet saddening “Till Death do Us Part”, the radio-friendly “Cherish”, the theatrical production of “Dear Jessie”, and the funky bluesy “Keep it Together”. Other album tracks, such as “Love Song”, “Spanish Eyes”, and “Act of Contrition”, maybe be generic fillers, but offer a diverse nature of Madonna. This also goes with the harrowing ballads “Oh Father” and “Promise to Try”, both discussing Madonna’s father and the death of her mother. As a result, Like a Prayer holds Madonna’s best songwriting and warrants her transition to maturity.

Track list (Bold means best tracks)

  1. Like a Prayer ~Liam’s favorite~
  2. Express Yourself
  3. Love Song
  4. Till Death to Us Part
  5. Promise to Try
  6. Cherish
  7. Dear Jessie
  8. Oh Father
  9. Keep It Together
  10. Spanish Eyes
  11. Act of Contrition


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s