Kylie Minogue: ‘Kylie Christmas: The Snow Queen Edition’ – Album Review


Released: November 25, 2016

Last year, I had reviewed Kylie Minogue’s festive record Kylie Christmas. What I remembered from the review was that, whilst they were a bunch of jolly uptempo pop-influenced Christmas tunes, there was something missing… that inner Kylie spark that has lit up majority of her previous discography, which unfortunately missed its chance here. But then I thought to myself, “surely Kylie will be re-releasing this record…”. I mean, come on, it’s a Christmas album; the only thing you would expect is either rising sales for each bloody Christmas spinning around (no pun intended) each year, or a completely new formatted release with new entries and possibly new artwork that shows off Kylie’s festive, yet steaming and sexy appeal.

Then wallah… Santa came a bit early! The Snow Queen edition of Kylie Christmas. The record is in fact an expansion of the original release, boasting an impressive 22 tracks, the most inclusions on any Kylie record to date. What was notable about this version was that it features a lot more traditional ballads and uptempo dance songs than it does sprinkle the Christmas cheer; think of it as your normal dance songs or ballads with some Christmas-inspired lyrics. It’s an interesting mix, considering that Kylie always knows how to capture pure essence of catchy hooks, polished production and over-the-top sexiness and fun with her music.

This includes the wonderful jolly anthem “At Christmas”, definitely a top-notch festive track to listen to (or… ehhhemm, spin around too). The singer also belts in a duet with British singer Mika with the quirky synth driven “Wonderful Christmastime”, but then you gets some gentle ballads that honestly show the brilliance of Kylie’s vocals, including “Christmas Lights” and the previous electronic hit “Every Day’s Like Christmas”. But it’s the Rozalla cover, “Everybody’s Free (To Feel Good)” that really steals the Christmas tree spotlight, transforming the original’s typical HI-NRG tempo to a more modern fairy-like ballad. But don’t be fooled; by the end, Ms. Minogue spunks up the tune with a 90s inspired dance breakdown, bringing back the oldies sound and classic Kylie.

But with the glorious selection of new tracks, there are the other ones from the original Kylie Christmas release… hence why I said, the “other ones”. In my opinion, what could have been quite handy… or even straightforward, was lose some of the songs because, with this Snow Queen edition, the older editions sound a bit dry and dated since its initial release… or melted? For example, tracks like “Christmas Wrapping”, “I’m Gonna Be Warm This Winter”, “2000 Miles”, “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas”, “Oh Santa” and “Cried Out Christmas” should have just been dumped like an expired Christmas pudding goes in a bin. They were tasty at first, but now it’s getting a bit cold, and makes the overall record feel like a bunch of unnecessary fillers. Also, the track list is a bit off a mess; a dance track next to a ballad? Rock songs next to dance songs? Ehhhhh, maybe it’s just brain-freeze from the amount of Christmas snow…

Thankfully, the Snow Queen edition emphasizes on catchy, warmer and pop-oriented tracks such as “At Christmas”, “Everybody’s Free (To Feel Good)” and “Every Day’s Like Christmas”, to a point where it could easily break pop radio. Kylie knows her audience real well, especially for a singer that has been in the game for nearly 30 years, so there’s no surprise that the new editions really give that sparkle that was missing from Kylie Christmas. And to round it off, the Snow Queen edition, minus the filler moments, is exactly what was missing from the first release; catchy hooks, originality, and a whole lot of Kylie fun! Cheers to you Kylie, but now, we feast!!!

Track listing (Bold means best tracks)

  1. It’s The Most Wonderful Time of the Year
  2. Santa Claus is Coming to Town (feat. Frank Sinatra)
  3. Winter Wonderland
  4. Only You (feat. James Cordon)
  5. Stay Another Day
  6. Christmas Wrapping (feat. Iggy Pop)
  7. At Christmas ~Liam’s favorite~
  8. I’m Gonna Be Warm This Winter
  9. Every Day’s Like Christmas
  10. Wonderful Christmastime (feat. Mika)
  11. 100 Degrees (feat. Dannii Minogue)
  12. Let It Snow
  13. I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday
  14. White December
  15. 2000 Miles
  16. Santa Baby
  17. Christmas Isn’t Christmas til You Get Here
  18. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  19. Oh Santa
  20. Cried Out Christmas
  21. Christmas Lights
  22. Everybody’s Free (To Feel Good)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s