LiSA: “ASH” – Single Review

38260534_350_350

Released: October 1, 2017 (Sacra Music)

J-Pop singer LiSA has been one of the most prominent anime musicians in recent years. Givin’ the fact she belts out theme songs for anime series and films like F-ing fireworks on the 4th of July, it’s hard to miss LiSA… because like the careers of Koda Kumi and Ayumi Hamasaki, LiSA is always there. So to me, her new single “ASH” seems just like a walk in the park; heavy guitars, dramatic chorus hooks, and over-exaggerated vocal deliveries that seems to go on and on and on. Yup, this is all marked off on the “anime-singer-releasing-anime-song” list.

“ASH” is the theme song for the anime series Fate/Apocrypha, which premiered in July this year. But what I find interesting with this song, in comparison to her previous theme tracks, is that it—dare I say it—kinda works… from start to finish… with no bumps… no grinds… no shitty key changes or horrible breakdown moments… nothing. Just a good solid, heavy rock track. Of course I have a tendency to pre-thrash those damn anime theme songs, especially when I noticed a lot of repetitive and cringy-as-F moments that kinda keep me from listening to the track in full again (or, to an extent, not watch the anime it’s featured on… no tea no shade y’all). But the consistency of of “ASH”‘s arrangements and additional Gothic elements is what I LIVE FOR when it comes to anime theme songs, and it is surprisingly different for LiSA. Hopefully she continues this route, because she’ll be snatching all my coins in my wallet y’all!

If anything, I think “ASH” is one of LiSA’s better releases. It’s instrumentation and rock sound is consistent from start to finish, and her vocals are, per usual, squeaky and dramatic as F, which gives it the odd juxtaposition between cutesy and completely over-the-top. Trust me y’all; I am not one that falls for anime theme songs, mainly because you tend to hear a different one every damn week it comes up on the iTunes chart (haha I know right…), but if anything, I would recommend giving “ASH” a listen.

3.5

Leave a Reply

